City of Vancouver appoints GLBTQ advisory board members

Share Button

The City of Vancouver announced the twelve members of the LGBTQ Advisory Committee whose mandate is to enhance access to full participation in City services for the LGBTQ communities.

City of Vancouver

The committee members are Mette Bach, Phillip Banks, Ryan Clayton, Jim Deva, Drew Dennis, Frank Gillespie, Pat Hogan, Fatima Jaffer, Karen McVeigh, Mark Robins, Steven RodRozen and Barb Snelgrove.  Representing the City of Vancouver and the Vancouver School Board are Councillor Tim Stevenson and Jane Bouey respectively with the Vancouver Park Board liaision still to be named.

Included on the Committee is GayVancouver.Net (Gay Vancouver Online) principal Mark Robins.  “I am looking forward to working with the great team that has been assembled to serve on the Committee and to giving our community a stronger voice in Vancouver,” said Robins.

The Committee has a wide ranging mandate in representing the LGBTQ community in Vancouver including providing input to civic departments in addressing discrimination issues such as hate crime, graffiti, and civic rental policies and acting as a conduit for feedback from the LGBTQ communities on civic matters affecting them.

The Committee is expected to meet at least four times per year and are expected to produce an annual work plan and to submit an annual report of accomplishments to Council.

Share Button
scroll to top