2009 RBC Local Hockey Leaders: 14 dedicated volunteers recognized

Share Button

It’s nearly impossible to count the volunteers in Canada who dedicate time, energy and passion toward sport in their communities. That’s why RBC created the Local Hockey Leaders Program in 2003, a national initiative to recognize and reward behind-the-scenes hockey volunteers who give their time to this sport.

Andrée Leblanc from Daveluyville, Quebec and Rick Jones from St. Catharines, Ontario are two amazing volunteers who have been recognized in 2009 for their outstanding involvement in minor hockey. RBC Insurance, with support from Hockey Canada and Hockey Hall of Fame, also also rewarded 12 other hockey volunteers, one for each Hockey Canada branch and an RBC employee, all of whom were nominated for their selfless commitment to minor hockey by members in their local communities.

Each winner will receive a signed Team Canada jersey and $10,000 to use towards a registered charity or hockey cause in their community. They will also be recognized in a permanent display at the Hockey Hall of Fame which will be unveiled on June 16 during a special ceremony. In 2010, as a special reward, these 14 volunteers will get the unique chance to carry the Olympic Flame with a team of up to 20 individuals in the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Torch Relay presented by Coca-Cola and RBC and supported by the Government of Canada.

Share Button
scroll to top