Vancouver Pride Legacy Awards celebrate our community’s best

Share Button

The Vancouver Pride Society has revealed the names of nominees for the 3rd annual Pride Legacy Awards. Created in 2013, the awards recognize members of the Vancouver LGBTQ+ community who are making a difference.

The eight awards, represented by the colours of the rainbow flag, are presented to individuals who have dedicated themselves to various causes in the LGBTQ community.  A public nomination process narrowed the field to the three finalists in each category, with a selection committee making the final choices to be revealed at the Legacy Awards ceremony on May 28.

Awards are given out in these categories:

  • Pink – Sexuality (Sexual Health + HIV/AIDS Awareness
  • Red – Life (Lifetime Achievement)
  • Orange – Healing (Sports)
  • Yellow – Sunlight (Volunteer of the Year)
  • Green – Environment (Safe Spaces)
  • Turquoise – Art (Art)
  • Blue – Harmony (Community Leaders)
  • Purple – Spirit (Youth)

Names of the nominees for the 2015 awards can be found on the Vancouver Pride Society website.

“The Pride Legacy Awards is an opportunity to highlight some of the important, amazing work being done within Vancouver to address many of the challenges and issues facing our community,” says the Vancouver Pride Society on its website. “While we have made significant strides towards equality and equity, there are still battles to be fought and it is important to draw attention to those at the forefront.”

This year’s Pride Legacy Awards ceremony takes place at the Roundhouse Community Centre on May 28. Visit for tickets and information.

Share Button
scroll to top